OUR ADDRESS

2214 Executive Drive, Suite C, Hampton, VA 23666

FREE CONSULTATION

757-838-1136

Poquoson Workers Compensation Lawyer

Poquoson Workers Compensation Lawyer Serving Clients in VA

Getting hurt at work can be devastating. While the immediate effects of a workplace accident can prevent you from returning to work, the long-term impact of your injuries can be even more overwhelming. Indeed, many employees who suffer serious injuries at work in Poquoson require extensive medical treatment and rehabilitative services, which result in costly hospital bills. In addition, workers who sustain serious injuries often cannot return to work in the same capacity. In some cases, workers only can return to with limited abilities, while others cannot work at all.

Employees can get hurt in many different types of accidents and workplace practices. Sometimes injuries result from a single incident, while other injuries and illnesses result from overexertion and long-term exposure to harm. If you got hurt at work in Poquoson, VA, you may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. An experienced Poquoson workers’ compensation attorney can assist you with your claim.

Virginia Workers’ Compensation Law

For residents or employees of Poquoson, it is important to understand how workers’ compensation law can help you to obtain benefits after you suffer an injury at work. In our state, Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia governs workers’ compensation claims. What do you need to do if you are injured on the job? The law requires you to do the following:

  •      Report your injury to your employer immediately, but no later than 30 days after the incident or your date of medical diagnosis with a work injury; and
  •      File a claim with the Workers’ Compensation Commission within two years from the date of the accident.

When you report your injury to your employer, your employer is required to file a report with the Workers’ Compensation Commission within 10 days of receiving your report. If you do not report your injury or work-related illness to your employer within 30 days from the date of the incident (or within 30 days from the date you received a medical diagnosis of your work-related injury or illness), your workers’ compensation claim may be denied.

Types of Workers’ Compensation Claims in Virginia

At Hampton Injury Law, we regularly assist clients with a wide variety of workers’ compensation claims, including but not limited to cases involving some of the following accidents and injuries:

  •      Bodily reaction;
  •      Fall to lower level;
  •      Highway incident;
  •      Machinery accidents;
  •      Overexertion;
  •      Repetitive motion;
  •      Seasonal workers;
  •      Slips, trips, or falls;
  •      Struck by or against an object; and
  •      Workplace violence.

We have years of experience helping Virginia employees who have suffered serious and debilitating injuries at work, and we can discuss your options with you today.

Contact a Poquoson Workers’ Compensation Attorney

If you have questions about filing for workers’ compensation benefits or if your workers’ compensation claim was denied, an experienced Poquoson workers’ comp attorney can help with your case. We are committed to assisting Virginia residents who have gotten hurt on the job and deserve to be compensated for their losses. Contact Hampton Injury Law today to learn more about our services.

 

 

 

Free Consultation

Do you have a question about your legal matters? Receive a free consultation by filling out the form below.

CONTACT INFO